Happy Birth-Day Cupcakes

photo

As a resolution this year, I decided that I would like to start annotating and sharing more about the food Brandon and I have been making (and that I have been Instagram-ing).  So here it is!

I begin two days after the new year and one day after my 27th birthday.

photo

We live in a loft apartment and have a spacious kitchen, but what it lacks is a proper pantry.  Another of my resolutions was to organize and label all the random glass jars on the wooden cart we use as a “pantry” (and to keep it organized throughout the year) so the unlabeled jar of white-ish powder in the back doesn’t just get tossed.  While I was consolidating and labeling I couldn’t help but wonder to myself, “Does anyone REALLY need this number of different flours and sugars?”  And then I realized although I use the contents of one of the jars for only one recipe, it certainly pays its rent for the pantry space.

photo (3)

Self -rising flour, the homemade and not store-bought kind.  When it gets low I simply add one cup of AP flour, 1/2 tsp. kosher salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder.  After a good shake, its ready to use.

With the self-rising flour replenished it was time to make a birthday treat for myself.  Cupcakes have been very popular lately, with people stuffing and filling and freezing and coating them.  As fancy as the nut-crusted, chocolate-filled cupcakes may be I still don’t think that they compare to the famous Magnolia Bakery (NYC) recipe for vanilla cupcakes and vanilla buttercream.  Aside from my great-grandmother’s chocolate cake (which I am sure I ‘ll write more about later), these morsels of joy are my favorite confection.  And lucky for me, the bakery published their recipe!

photo (4) photo (2)

A few things that make my life easier when baking cupcakes:

  1. Eggs and butter that are at room temperature.  I have tried the microwave method (5 sec? 10 sec?) but after dealing with a stick of butter that is half melted and half still refrigerator-cold, the countertop is my go-to warming method.
  2. An ice cream scoop.  This is a no-brainer way to get almost uniform amount of batter in each cup without the mess of a measuring cup.
  3. Pastry bag.  Instead of attempting to ice with a spatula this time, I employed a pastry bag for the icing.

These cupcakes are truly heavenly – slightly crispy on the sides and decadently sweet.  Ice them after only a short cooling period and eat the first ones warm, just like at Magnolia Bakery.  Except you didn’t have to wait in the line!

photo (1)

And so, a happy birth-day to the blog and a happy birthday to me!

Bon appétit.

MAGNOLIA BAKERY VANILLA CUPCAKES

Yield Makes about 2 dozen

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 6 to 8 cups confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 12-cup muffin tins with paper liners; set aside. In a small bowl, combine flours; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream 2 sticks of butter until smooth and creamy. Gradually add granulated sugar, beating until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add dry ingredients in 3 parts, alternating with 1 cup of the milk and 1 tsp. vanilla, and scraping down sides of bowl in between each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat.
  2. Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about three-quarters full. Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.
  3. Clean the bowl of your electric mixer and the paddle attachment. Combine 2 sticks of butter, 4 cups confectioner’s sugar, and the remaining milk and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until smooth and creamy, 3 to 5 minutes. Gradually add remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating for about 2 minutes after each addition, until icing reaches desired consistency; you may not need to add all the sugar.
  4. Transfer to a wire rack to cool in tins for 15 minutes. Remove cupcakes from tins, and cool completely on rack. Once cupcakes have cooled, frost tops of each cupcake.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birth-Day Cupcakes

  1. Debbie Liby says:

    thank you for sharing the cupcake recipe…looking forward to your Great Grandmother’s chocolate cake recipe!

  2. bryon yoder says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Magnolia cupcakes! I must try them…and follow your blog. Great job!

  3. Laura Medvic says:

    This is fabulous, Austin! I can’t wait to read future entries!

  4. Pingback: Warm Scones for (not quite) a Crowd | Mince + Dice

Leave a Reply

